New York Film Critics proclaim ‘Boyhood’ best film of 2014

Our Rating

New York, NY – December 1, 2014 – The New York Film Critics Circle voted today for their picks for the 2014 awards at the Film Society at Lincoln Center. In celebration of the Critics 80th year, the awards will be handed out during their annual ceremony on Monday, January 5th at Tao Downtown.

Boyhood was awarded Best Picture and Richard Linklater was named Best Director. Marion Cotillard was selected as Best Actress for her roles in both The Immigrant and Two Days, One Night and Timothy Spall was chosen as Best Actor for Mr. Turner. A Special Award was given to Adrienne Mancia, who, as a curator at MoMA for more than 30 years, helped shape the moviegoing tastes of New Yorkers by bringing the work of filmmakers like Bernardo Bertolucci, Manoel De Oliveira, and Marco Bellocchio to the United States. Full list of winners below.

Says 2014 NYFCC Chairman, The Star-Ledger’s Stephen Whitty, “This was perhaps the most eclectic, least predictable movie year in recent memory, and I think the Circle’s final choices clearly show that diversity, drama and style – which makes Tao Downtown a particularly fitting choice for this year’s gala.”

Founded in 1935, the New York Film Critics Circle is the oldest and most prestigious critics’ group in the country. The circle’s membership includes critics from daily newspapers, weekly newspapers, magazines and the web’s most respected online publications. Every year the organization meets in New York to vote on awards for the calendar year’s films. The Circle’s awards are often viewed as harbingers of the Oscar nominations. The Circle’s awards are also viewed — perhaps more accurately — as a principled alternative to the Oscars, honoring aesthetic merit in a forum that is immune to commercial and political pressures.

Best Picture: 

Best Director: 
Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Best Screenplay:
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Actress:
Marion Cotillard, The Immigrant and Two Days, One Night

Best Actor: 
Timothy Spall, Mr. Turner

Best Supporting Actress:
Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

Best Supporting Actor: 
J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Best Foreign Language Film:

Best Cinematography:
Darius Khondji, The Immigrant

Best Nonfiction Film: 

Best First Film:
Jennifer Kent, The Babadook

Best Animated Film:
The Lego Movie

Special Award:
Adrienne Mancia


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Thanks for submitting your rating!
    Please give a rating.

    Thanks for submitting your comment!

    Share This Post

    Like This Post


    Related Posts

    Latest Reviews